"The heart cannot be wrung and wrung"

Review:

A Girl Is a Half-Formed Thing[GIRL IS A HALF FORMED THING][Hardcover] - EimearMcBride

I found this to be a very difficult book to read. The style was apparently meant to be stream of consciousness or possibly free-form poetry. I had to read passages over and over again because I couldn’t understand what was happening and felt that I was missing the story.

 

Despite that, the story did come through and it was a terribly sad one. This girl’s love for her brother, who has a brain tumor, is heart wrenching. Her relationship with and treatment by her uncle-in-law is sickening and upsetting. Your heart will ache for this girl as she struggles to live a normal life amidst devastating illness, sexual abuse and confusion. The book plunges you into her mind, revealing raw emotion. It’s a very disturbing book.

 

If you’re interested in reading this book, I would suggest that you find an excerpt to see whether you would like this style of writing. I can’t say that I did as it was quite a struggle to read and I found it confusing. It’s a very original work of literature and there are thought-provoking statements made throughout. Within all the scattered and fragmented thoughts, there will suddenly appear a clear and powerful insight. Because of these insights and the power of the story itself, I’ll give the book 2 stars. However, I’ll be careful not to read a book written in this style again. Obviously, many readers will disagree with me as the book has won numerous awards.

 

This book was given to me by Blogging for Books in return for an honest review.

 

More info

Original post:
Marjorie.booklikes.com/post/1235584/the-heart-cannot-be-wrung-and-wrung

Leave a Reply

