Very strange and unsettling

book

Oola by Brittany Newell

Book Review – 2 out of 5 star rating

This is a story of obsession that goes beyond the object being obsessed about. Leif and Oola are in their twenties when they meet and were attracted to each other.  Leif has been getting house sitting jobs all over the world and Oola joins him.  During their travels from one house to the next, they only have each other and become isolated.    Leif’s obsession with Oola keeps growing until he not only wants to know every inch of her, both physically and mentally, but he wants to become her.

I chose this book because of the beautiful writing by the author that the publisher promised. And yes, there is beautiful writing in this book, as well as crude, rough language.  The author writes with wit and black humor but I found the book to be very drawn out in parts and offensive in other parts.  I find obsession fascinating and usually like strange, unsettling books but this book also involves drugs, fetishism and gender bending.  Though in thinking about it, I’ve read other books involving those topics that I thought highly of.  This one was just too coarse for me.  I think the author does a good job in showing the deterioration of this relationship but I think it possibly requires a younger, more modern audience.  Overall, it just wasn’t for me though I did appreciate the author’s talent.

This book was given to me by the publisher in return for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

