Not quite what I expected

book

The Only Child by Andrew Pyper

Book Review:  3 out of 5 star rating

Dr. Lily Dominick is a forensic psychologist in New York. She’s assigned a very unique patient.  This patient with no name not only claims that he’s 200 years old but that he inspired the literary monsters in  “Frankenstein”, “The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll & Mr. Hyde” and “Dracula”.  He also claims that he’s Lily’s father.  Lily’s mother had been murdered when Lily was a young child and she has always longed to know more about her mother and exactly what happened to her.  So Lily decides to find out just what this patient knows about her past despite the apparent dangers that such an association would bring.

I have always felt that Frankenstein’s monster is one of the most heart breaking literary characters ever created. He was so close to being a part of mankind but would always be doomed to be on the outside, alone and unloved.  When I requested “The Only Child”, I had just finished binge watching the last season of “Penny Dreadful” and was still caught up in all of the emotional and suspenseful aspects of that excellent production.  So I couldn’t wait to get my hands on this latest re-imagination of a similar monster.

This is the first book I’ve read by this author, although I do have quite a few of his titles on my TBR list. The author has such a good reputation that I expected a more complex tale.  I expected to feel great sympathy for the monster who was trying to connect with his daughter.  The book starts off well and I was pulled right in.  But the monster didn’t tug my heart strings at all.  Lily’s character was also disappointing and seemed to jump from one feeling to another too quickly.  One minute she’s fearing a man who was hunting the monster and the next she was in love with him.  What held such promise at the beginning of the book basically devolved into a cat and mouse chase.  The ending was not at all surprising to me.

The book wasn’t a complete disappointment as there were parts that I enjoyed. I just feel like there was so much promise that never materialized.  I loved the basic premise of the book and I would like to try another one of the author’s novels.

This book was given to me by the publisher in return for an honest review.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Not quite what I expected

Leave a Reply

