Fascinating portrayal of one day in a marriage that’s on the edge

book

Small hours by Jennifer Kitses

Book Review:  4 out of 5 stars

The entire book covers 24 hours in the marriage of Tom and Helen. They are the parents of three-year-old twins and have recently moved from Queens to a small town on the Hudson River.  Helen is working from home and is finding it stressful finding enough time to manage work, home and children.  Tom commutes to his job at a news wire service.  They have come into some financial difficulties and have been less than honest and upfront with each other so things start to unravel.

This is one of those books where everyday events can lead to a powerful punch. The author expertly rackets up the suspense as Tom and Helen’s day proceeds.  I’ve been trying not to rely too much on advertising blurbs and comparisons but I think the publisher’s comparisons to Richard Russo and Tom Perrotta are very close.  I cared about Tom and Helen and I kept wishing they would just sit down and talk things out instead of trying to handle their difficulties on their own.  It was obvious they cared about each other.  The suspense comes into play because you’re just not sure how far the author is going to take the story and you can only sit and watch in dread as the hours go by.  I found Tom and Helen’s story to be realistic and believable and I very much enjoyed the time spent with them.

I did find the section involving Tom’s work place to be a bit slow and that was my least favorite part of the book, though at times it was humorous. Maybe that’s because I’m retired and really don’t want to spend any time at “work”, even in a book.  I could certainly feel Tom’s frustration there.

This is the author’s debut novel and I’m very interested to see where she heads next.

Recommended.

This book was given to me by the publisher in return for an honest review.

 

Leave a Reply

